PRINTER FRIENDLY PAGE. To view this group's HOME page, click or visit:   **

Booking Journey - book Rock Music Artists - Hard Rock, Pop/Rock, Arena Rock, Album Rock, Soft Rock - Richard De La Font Agency, Inc. - For serious booking requests only, click here: For More Information

Founded in 1973 in San Francisco around former Santana members Neal Schon and Gregg Rolie, with the assistance of Ross Valory, George Tickner and Prairie Prince, the legacy of Journey has spanned nearly 30 years with 18 U.S. releases and 50,000,000 in album sales. Their music is artful, intense, melodic rock played with passion and superb musicianship.

Journey's initial style was progressive jazz-rock, complete with extended and improvised solo spots, a style much in evidence on their first three albums for Columbia Records. In April 1975 Tickner bowed out of music to attend Stanford Medical School. He was eventually replaced by ex-Alien Project vocalist, Steve Perry (following a brief tenure by Robert Fleischman).

The switch to their signature highly sophisticated rock occurred with the recording of their hugely successful album, "Infinity." Unfortunately Dunbar was unhappy with this new style and left for Jefferson Starship, to be replaced by legendary drummer Steve Smith. The band's next release, "Evolution," followed and brought the band their first US Top 20 hit, "Lovin', Touchin', Squeezin'."

"Captured" was a live double album that surprised many critics. The album featured cranked-up guitars and raucous hard rock, eventually peaking at #9 on the US album chart. Founding member Rolie departed after its release, to be replaced by Jonathan Cain, who had previously played with the Babys.

Cain's arrival was an important landmark in Journey's career, as his songwriting input added a new dimension to the band's sound. The band's next release, "Escape," reached #1 and stayed in the charts for more than a year. It also spawned three US Top 10 hit singles, "Who's Crying Now," "Don't Stop Believin'" and "Open Arms." The follow-up, "Frontiers," was also massively successful, staying at #2 on the Billboard album chart for nine weeks.

Valory and Smith departed the group prior to the release of 1986's "Raised On Radio," which generated another US hit single, "Be Good To Yourself." The band was joined in the studio and subsequent live dates by bass players Randy Jackson and Bob Glaub, drummers, Mike Baird and Nashville veteran Larrie Londin.

In 1996 Perry, Schon, Smith, Cain and Valory reunited to release "Trial By Fire," which entered the US chart at number 3. The following year Deen Castronovo (ex-Bad English) replaced Smith and vocalist Steve Augeri (Tall Stories) replaced Steve Perry after health problems sidelined the singer.

Vocalist Steve Augeri first recorded with Journey for the band's 1998 contribution to the "Armageddon" soundtrack "Remember Me." The soundtrack, which hit #1 on the Billboard charts, was certified triple platinum.

The band's 18th release, "Arrival," debuted in the spring of 2001 and the group launched their incredibly successful 56-city Arrival 2001 World Tour.

An "Essential Journey" greatest hits collection arrived in 2001 from Columbia Records, an honor previously bestowed on legends such as Miles Davis, Billy Joel, Neil Diamond, and Barbra Streisand.

Throughout the summer of 2002, Journey again brought its live show around the country during their Under The Radar Tour. It also gave the band an opportunity to showcase music from their new EP, "Red13," to their die-hard fans. A late 2002 release of the EP gave the rest of America the chance to embrace Journey's latest rock creation.

The Egyptians regarded the divine scarab beetle as a symbol of self-creative power, rebirth, renewal, transformation and regeneration. The scarab, which has also become the long-time symbol for the legendary rock band Journey, has evolved into an exceptionally fitting symbol for a band that began in 1973 as an experimental rhythm section (formed around guitar prodigy Neal Schon) and eventually sold more than 50 million records and became one of the biggest rock bands in the world. For Journey, transformation and renewal are an integral part of the creative force that has led the band on their remarkable "journey." Journey's touring and performing continues to delight audiences across the country and around the globe.

Hit songs include --

  • Separate Ways (Worlds Apart)
  • When You Love a Woman
  • Be Good to Yourself
  • Open Arms
  • The Party's Over (Hopelessly In Love)
  • Only the Young
  • Who's Crying Now
  • I'll Be Alright Without You
  • Don't Stop Believin'
  • Girl Can't Help It
  • Suzanne
  • Faithfully
  • Stone In Love
  • Lovin', Touchin', Squeezin'
  • Message of Love
  • Still They Ride
  • All the Way
  • After the Fall
  • Any Way You Want It
  • Send Her My Love

Journey may be available for your next special event.
For booking information, click HERE!

To book Journey for your special event,
contact Richard De La Font Agency, Inc. 
For faster service, this is required first - click on this link: